(in alphabetical order below)

  • Asian Development Committee
  • Communications Committee
  • Conferences Board
  • Conference Working Group
  • Council of Steering Committee Chairs
  • Executive Committee
  • Operations Committee
  • Research Ethics Committee

Asian Development Committee

(Updated 11th May, 2019) Contact: SIGCHI-Asian-Develop@acm.org
Name Position Email
Anirudha Joshi Outgoing Liaison for India anirudha_at_iitb.ac.in
Jinwoo Kim Outgoing Liaison for The Republic of Korea jinwoo_at_yonsei.ac.kr
Juho Kim and Uichin Lee Incoming Liaisons for The Republic of Korea
Yoshifumi Kitamura Liaison for Japan and Chair of Asian Development Committee yoshifumik_at_acm.org
Zhengjie Liu Liaison for China liuzhj_at_dlmu.edu.cn or liuzhjengjie92_at_163.com
Eunice Sari Liaison for South East Asia Eunice.sari_at_acm.org or eunice.sari_at_uwa.edu.au

Communications Committee

Chair:Pejman Mirza-Babaei, Vice President for Membership and Communications (interim), sigchi-VP-Membership@acm.org

Communications Committee

Name Position Email
Pejman Mirza-Babaei VP of Membership and Communications  pejman@uoit.ca
Sian Lindley CHI Lites Program
Stefan Manjolovic & Simone Kriglstein Social Media Communication
Ella Peltonen Lead Ambassador Program
Lindsay Reynolds Coordination Ops/Comm Team
Victoria Sosik Strategic Development Membership Benefits

Conferences Board

The SIGCHI Conferences Board is a committee which supports the Vice President of Conferences in SIGCHI Conference related activities. Its membership is approved by the SIGCHI Executive Committee and includes nominees from the Vice President of Conferences and the SIGCHI Council of Steering Committee Chairs (CSCC), outlined below. Members of this committee typically hold the role of incoming, current or past conference Steering Committee (SC) chair for a SIGCHI specialized conference or CHI, or have commensurate levels of experience with conference management. The current board for 2019 includes:

Chair: Aaron Quigley, Vice President for Conferences, sigchi-VP-Conferences@acm.org

Name Position Email
Lora Aroyo UMAP Steering Committee Chair l.m.aroyo_at_gmail_dot_com
Vanessa Evers Former TEI Steering Committee Chair v.evers_at_utwente.nl
Pamela J Hinds Former CSCW Steering Committee Chair phinds_at_stanford.edu
Andrew Kun Auto-UI Steering Committee Co-Chair Andrew.Kun_at_unh.edu
Anind Dey External member and Former UbiComp Steering Committee Chair anind_at_uw_dot_edu
Isa Jahnke Group Steering Committee Member jahnkei_at_missouri_dot_edu
Aaron Quigley Vice President for Conferences and former MobileHCI Steering Committee Chair sigchi-VP-Conferences_at_acm.org

Updated: March 2019

Conferences working group

This working group supports the ACM SIGCHI Vice President for Conferences in operational aspects of the SIGCHI conference series e.g. banner development, calendar management, in-cooperation approvals, translation, surveys and community development.

Chair: Aaron Quigley, Vice President for Conferences, sigchi-VP-Conferences@acm.org

  • Yenny Alexandra Méndez Alegría, National Open and Distance University (UNAD), (Colombia)
  • Luigi De Russis, 
Politecnico di Torino – Dipartimento di Automatica e Informatica, (Italy)
  • Gavin Doherty, Trinity College Dublin, (Ireland)
  • Swathi Jagannath, 
Drexel University, (USA)
  • Max L. Wilson, 
University of Nottingham, (UK)

updated: March 2019

Council of Steering Committee Chairs

When a conference has been organized under the auspices of SIGCHI with the (co-)sponsored status (of at least 50%), the VP for Conferences will support the creation of a steering committee (SC) for that conference (if not already existing). The chair of this committee will be the privileged contact point with SIGCHI EC and VP for Conferences providing feedback on the issues faced by the conference series and transferring information and procedures to the organizers of the next conferences of that series. The chair will become a member of SIGCHI Council of Steering Committee Chairs (CSCC).

Chair: Aaron Quigley, Vice President for Conferences, sigchi-VP-Conferences@acm.org

Conference Steering Committee
Committee Chair
Note Email
AutoUI Andrew Kun Co-Chair
Albrecht Schmidt Co-Chair
CHI Play Daniel Johnson   dm.johnson_at_qut.edu.au
CHI Philippe Palanque   palanque_at_irit.fr
CI: Collective Intelligence Thomas Malone   malone_at_mit.edu
C&C: Creativity and Cognition Brian Bailey [3] bpbailey_at_illinois.edu
CSCW Amy Bruckman  
DIS Steve Harrison [4] srh_at_cs.vt.edu
EICS Kris Luyten  
ETRA Andrew Duchowski   duchowski_at_clemson.edu
GROUP Pernille Bjorn  
HRI Bilge Mutlu Co-Chair bmutlu_at_wisc.edu
Gerhard Sagerer Co-Chair
ICMI Louis-Philippe Morency   morency_at_cs.cmu.edu
IDC Panos Markopoulos Co-Chair P.Markopoulos_at_tue.nl
Chris Quintana Co-Chair quintana_at_umich.edu
ISS Miguel Nacenta [2] mans_at_st-andrews.ac.uk
IUI Tsvi Kuflik   tsvikak_at_is.haifa.ac.il
MobileHCI Kaisa Väänänen  
RecSyS Robin Burke  
SUI Evan Suma Rosenberg   suma_at_umn.edu
TEI Saskia Bakker   s.bakker_at_tue.nl
Frank Bentley
UbiComp Julie Kientz   jkientz_at_uw.edu
UIST Scott Hudson   scott.hudson_at_cs.cmu.edu
UMAP Lora Aroyo   lora.aroyo_at_vu.nl
VRST Yoshifumi Kitamura   yoshifumik_at_acm.org


  1. Collaboration across Boundaries: Culture, Distance, & Technology (CABS) retired as a conference series in 2017.
  2. ISS was formerly called ITS
  3. Held annually since 2017 and every two years before that
  4. Held annually since 2016 and every two years before that.

Updated: July 2019

Managed by Conferences

Executive Committee

See Executive Committee page here

Operations Committee

Chair: David A. Shamma, Vice President for Operations sigchi-VP-Operations@acm.org

Contact: sigchi-operations@acm.org

SIGCHI Conferences

Name Position Email
David A. Shamma VP of Operations aymans@acm.org
Fred Sampson Past VP of Operations fred@fredsampson.com
Scooter Morris Past VP for Conferences scooter@cgl.ucsf.edu
David Lindlbauer Video Capture david.lindlbauer@tu-berlin.de
Roman Rädle Video Capture contact@romanraedle.com
Max Van Kleek Review/Submission Process emax@alum.mit.edu
Lindsay Reynolds Conference Archive llr48@cornell.edu
Madeline E. Smith Conference Archive mads@madsesmith.com
Patrick Gage Kelley Design patrickgage@gmail.com
Harsh Patel Design & Accessibility la83051@umbc.edu

Research Ethics Committee

The SIGCHI Research Ethics Committee is an appointed committee that facilitates community conversations about ethical issues, and reviews SIGCHI policies and procedures relevant to ethics.

Chair: Amy Bruckman

Contact the group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/866225810172460/

Email chi-research-ethics@acm.org

Name Institution
Amy Bruckman Georgia Institute of Technology
Michael Muller IBM
Melissa Densmore University of Cape Town
Casey Fiesler CU Boulder
Chris Frauenberger Vienna University of Technology
Jeff Hancock Stanford
Bob Kraut CMU
Cosmin Munteanu University of Toronto
Katie Shilton University of Maryland
Janice Tsai Mozilla
Jenny Waycott University of Melbourne
Managed by Executive Committee