Communications Committee

Chair: Regina Bernhaupt, Vice President for Membership and Communications, sigchi-VP-Membership@acm.org

Contact: sigchi.commteam@gmail.com

Communications Committee

Name Position Email
Regina Bernhaupt VP of Membership and Communications regina.bernhaupt@ruwido.com
Stefan Manojlović stefan.manojlovic@gmail.com
Lennart Nacke lennart.nacke@gmail.com
Marianna Obrist obristmarianna@gmail.com
Lindsay Reynolds llr48@cornell.edu
Victoria Sosik victoria.sosik@gmail.com

Conferences Board

The SIGCHI Conferences Board is a committee which supports the Vice President of Conferences in SIGCHI Conference related activities. Its membership is approved by the SIGCHI Executive Committee and includes nominees from the Vice President of Conferences and the SIGCHI Council of Steering Committee Chairs (CSCC), outlined below. Members of this committee typically hold the role of incoming, current or past conference Steering Committee (SC) chair for a SIGCHI specialized conference or CHI, or have commensurate levels of experience with conference management. The current board for 2018 includes:

Chair: Aaron Quigley, Vice President for Conferences, sigchi-VP-Conferences@acm.org

Name Position Email
Lora Aroyo UMAP Steering Committee Chair l.m.aroyo_at_gmail_dot_com
Vanessa Evers Former TEI Steering Committee Chair v.evers_at_utwente.nl
Pamela J Hinds Former CSCW Steering Committee Chair phinds_at_stanford.edu
Andrew Kun Auto-UI Steering Committee Co-Chair Andrew.Kun_at_unh.edu
Anind Dey External member and Former UbiComp Steering Committee Chair anind_at_uw_dot_edu
Kris Luyten EICS Steering Committee Chair kris.luyten_at_uhasselt.be
Aaron Quigley Vice President for Conferences and former MobileHCI Steering Committee Chair sigchi-VP-Conferences_at_acm.org

 

 

 

Operations Committee

Chair:, Dan Olsen, Vice President for Operations sigchi-VP-Operations@acm.org

Contact: sigchi-operations@listserv.acm.org

SIGCHI Conferences

Name Position Email
Dan Olsen VP of Operations Olsen@sparxteq.com
Fred Sampson Past VP of Operations fred@fredsampson.com
Scooter Morris Past VP for Conferences scooter@cgl.ucsf.edu
David Lindlbauer Video Capture david.lindlbauer@tu-berlin.de
Roman Rädle Video Capture contact@romanraedle.com
Max Van Kleek Review/Submission Process emax@alum.mit.edu
Lindsay Reynolds Conference Archive llr48@cornell.edu
Madeline E. Smith Conference Archive mads@madsesmith.com
Patrick Gage Kelley Design patrickgage@gmail.com

Council of Steering Committee Chairs

When a conference has been organized under the auspices of SIGCHI with the (co-)sponsored status (of at least 50%), the VP for Conferences will support the creation of a steering committee (SC) for that conference (if not already existing). The chair of this committee will be the privileged contact point with SIGCHI EC and VP for Conferences providing feedback on the issues faced by the conference series and transferring information and procedures to the organizers of the next conferences of that series. The chair will become a member of SIGCHI Council of Steering Committee Chairs (CSCC).

This list was last updated on July 10th, 2018.

Conference Steering Committee
Steering
Committee Chair
Note Email
AutoUI Andrew Kun Co-Chair
Albrecht Schmidt Co-Chair
CHI Play Lennart Nacke lennart.nacke@acm.org
CHI Philippe Palanque palanque@irit.fr
CI: Collective Intelligence Thomas Malone
C&C: Creativity and Cognition Brian Bailey [3] bpbailey@illinois.edu
CSCW Clifford Lampe
DIS Steve Harrison [4] srh@cs.vt.edu
EICS Kris Luyten
ETRA Andrew Duchowski duchowski@clemson.edu
GROUP Pernille Bjorn
HRI Bilge Mutlu Co-Chair bmutlu@wisc.edu
Gerhard Sagerer Co-Chair
ICMI Louis-Philippe Morency morency@cs.cmu.edu
IDC Ole Sejer Iversen Co-Chair oiversen@cavi.au.dk
Chris Quintana Co-Chair quintana@umich.edu
ISS Johannes Schöning [2] schoening@uni-bremen.de 
IUI Tsvi Kuflik tsvikak@is.haifa.ac.il
MobileHCI Kaisa Väänänen
RecSyS Robin Burke
SUI Evan Suma Rosenberg suma@umn.edu
TEI Ellen Do ellendo@acm.org
TVX David Geerts
UbiComp Julie Kientz jkientz@uw.edu
UIST Scott Hudson scott.hudson@cs.cmu.edu
UMAP Lora Aroyo lora.aroyo@vu.nl
VRST Yoshifumi Kitamura yoshifumi@acm.org

notes:

  1. Collaboration across Boundaries: Culture, Distance, & Technology (CABS) retired as a conference series in 2017.
  2. ISS was formerly called ITS
  3. Held annually since 2017 and every two years before that
  4. Held annually since 2016 and every two years before that.

Research Ethics Committee

The SIGCHI Research Ethics Committee is an appointed committee that facilitates community conversations about ethical issues, and reviews SIGCHI policies and procedures relevant to ethics.

Chair: Amy Bruckman

Contact the group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/866225810172460/

Email chi-research-ethics@acm.org

Name Institution
Amy Bruckman Georgia Institute of Technology
Michael Muller IBM
Melissa Densmore University of Cape Town
Casey Fiesler CU Boulder
Chris Frauenberger Vienna University of Technology
Jeff Hancock Stanford
Bob Kraut CMU
Cosmin Munteanu University of Toronto
Katie Shilton University of Maryland
Janice Tsai Mozilla
Jenny Waycott University of Melbourne

Asian Development Committee

Contact: SIGCHI-Asian-Develop@acm.org

Name Position Email
Anirudha Joshi Liaison for India anirudha_at_iitb.ac.in
Jinwoo Kim Liaison for The Republic of Korea jinwoo_at_yonsei.ac.kr
Yoshifumi Kitamura Liaison for Japan yoshifumi_at_acm.org
Zhengjie Liu Liaison for China liuzhj_at_dlmu.edu.cn or liuzhjengjie92_at_163.com
Eunice Sari Liaison for South East Asia Eunice.sari_at_acm.org or eunice.sari_at_uwa.edu.au